Antje Weithaas (photo Kaupo Kikkas)

Sinfonia Concertante

Amsterdam Sinfonietta + Georgy Kovalev
Fri 6 Dec 2024 20:15 - 22:10
Fri 6 Dec 2024
20:15 - 22:10
  • Fri 6 Dec 2024
    20:15 - 22:10
    Interval 21:05
    Grote Zaal


19.15 / Foyerdeck 1 / Pre-concert talk

20.15 / Grote Zaal / Main programme
Jörg Widmann Jagdquartett (version for string orchestra)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Sinfonia concertante
Jörg Widmann Aria
Antonín Dvořák Serenade for Strings


Amsterdam Sinfonietta
Antje Weithaas direction, violin
Georgy Kovalev viola

Theatricality and lively interaction

Widmann’s theatrical Jagdquartett takes its title from Mozart’s masterful string quartet of the same name. The work demands dramatic flair from the musicians; imagine a chase that ends with the cellist’s downfall. Dvořák’s Serenade for strings is one of the most important pieces in the string orchestra repertoire. It is cherished for its lush melodies and graceful atmosphere, brimming with Slavic zeal and distinctive rhythms.

In the 18th century, the sinfonia concertante, a symphony with solo parts, was a very popular genre. Audiences enjoyed the spectacular rivalry between the various soloists. Leopold Mozart persuaded his son Wolfgang to master this genre, and Mozart created a profound and lively interaction between the soloists and the orchestra.