Alisa Weilerstein (Photo Andy Doornhein)

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Nicolas Altstaedt + Alisa Weilerstein
Thu 7 Nov 2024 20:15 - 22:15
Thu 7 Nov 2024
20:15 - 22:15
  • Thu 7 Nov 2024
    20:15 - 22:15
    Grote Zaal


Henri Dutilleux Timbres, Espace, Mouvement ou ‘La Nuit étoile’
Liza Lim Cello Concerto
Matthias Pintscher Un Despertar 
György Ligeti San Francisco Polyphony


Nicolas Altstaedt cello
Alisa Weilerstein cello 
Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest
Matthias Pintscher dirigent

New cello concertos by Matthias Pintscher and Liza Lim 

Matthias Pintscher leads the Concertgebouw Orchestra in his own dark and lyrical cello concerto Un Despertar – an awakening, which he composed in 2017 for Alisa Weilerstein.

Liza Lim creates a new concerto co-commissioned by the Cello Biennale for Nicolas Altstaedt. The second movement of Dutilleux’s composition is one big solo for the cello section of the orchestra.