Pavel Haas Quartet (foto Petra Hajska)

Kaprálová, Martinů and Debussy

Pavel Haas Quartet
Sat 13 Apr 2024 20:15 - 22:00
Sat 13 Apr 2024
20:15 - 22:00
  • Sat 13 Apr 2024
    20:15 - 22:00
    Interval 21:10
    Grote Zaal


19:45 / Entreehal / Support
Ottorino Respighi Il Tramonto 

Fontana Kwartet 
Menno Verloop violin
Caspar Bellamy violin
Elin Haver viola
Isaac Lottman cello

Madalena Massano mezzo-soprano

20:15 / Grote Zaal / Main programme
Vítězslava Kaprálová String quartet nr. 1
Bohuslav Martinů String quartet nr. 5
Claude Debussy String quartet


Pavel Haas Quartet:
Veronika Jarůšková violin
Marek Zwiebel violin
Šimon Truszka viola
Peter Jarůšek cello

Beautiful, lyrical music by forgotten Czech composer 

The Pavel Haas Quartet is in its twentieth season and occupies a firm place in the top ten of the string quartet scene. The quartet takes its name from Czech composer Pavel Haas. Not surprisingly, Czech music is an important pillar in the quartet’s idiosyncratic repertoire. In this concert, the beautiful but rarely performed music of composer Vítězslava Kaprálová will be played.

The highly promising Kaprálová did not live beyond twenty-five, but during her short life she wrote seventy works. At the age of twenty, she wrote a string quartet that has folk-music influences and neo-romantic traits, but also already a unique lyrical atmosphere. Her teacher Bohuslav Martinů, whom she followed to Paris, wrote his Fifth String Quartet in response to that of Kaprálová and dedicated it to her. In 1893, in Paris, Debussy wrote his only string quartet, opening up a whole new world of sound and putting an end to entrenched structures.

Programme booklet (Dutch)