Ralph van Raat (foto Heater Pinkham)

Tanaka's Piano Concerto

Philzuid + Ralph van Raat
Thu 10 Oct 2024 20:15 - 22:00
Thu 10 Oct 2024
20:15 - 22:00
  • Thu 10 Oct 2024
    20:15 - 22:00
    Grote Zaal


Alexander Borodin In the Steppes of Central Asia
Karen Tanaka Techno Etudes IV, for piano and orchestra (world premiere)*
Pyotr Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1

* commissioned by Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ and Vancouver Symphony Orchestra supported by Ammodo


Ralph van Raat piano
Martijn Dendievel conductor

World premiere by a tireless ambassador of new music

Japanese composer Karen Tanaka has written a piano concerto for master pianist Ralph van Raat, and the world premiere is tonight – need we say more? Don’t miss your chance to be a part of history. It comes as no surprise that Ralph van Raat will be performing the work: not only is he a tireless ambassador of new music, but Tanaka also dedicated the second set of her popular Techno Etudes to him. The orchestra is Philzuid, which previously performed the world premiere of Hawar Tafiq’s Bosch Requiem in the Muziekgebouw. 

Tanaka, a student of the great Luciano Berio and Tristan Murail, is writing her first piano concerto at the behest of the Muziekgebouw and the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. Her music is often inspired by her love of nature and her concern for the climate. The programme concludes with two Russian classics: Borodin’s symphonic poem In the Steppes of Central Asia and Tchaikovsky’s First Symphony – his best, according to the composer himself.