Paul Lewis (photo Kaupo Kikkas)


Paul Lewis
Fri 9 May 2025 20:15 - 22:00
Fri 9 May 2025
20:15 - 22:00
  • Fri 9 May 2025
    20:15 - 22:00
    Grote Zaal


Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 10 No. 1
Thomas Larcher Sonata (Dutch première)
Johannes Brahms 3 Intermezzi Op. 117
Franz Schubert Piano Sonata No. 21 D960


Paul Lewis piano

Pianistic imagination: from Beethoven to Larcher

Sonata is the straightforward, simple title of Thomas Larcher’s new piano solo work. But Larcher’s music is never simple or straightforward, especially when performed by British master pianist and Beethoven specialist Paul Lewis. The Times has hailed Larcher’s communicative and compelling music as ‘one of this century’s wonders’. Besides Larcher, Lewis also plays classical sonatas by Beethoven and Schubert, as well as Brahm’s dreamy, wistful Three Intermezzi.

Paul Lewis, the son of a Liverpool dockworker, was captivated by Beethoven’s music as an eight-year-old. The legendary Austrian pianist Alfred Brendel – a compatriot of Larcher’s – is his great inspiration, mentor and teacher. It was from Brendel that Lewis learned that you are a musician first and foremost, and only then a pianist. Lewis has previously premiered works for solo piano by Larcher. NRC wrote about his debut at the Muziekgebouw in 2017: ‘A stunning display of cutting-edge piano virtuosity.’