Asko|Schönberg plays De Staat by Andriessen (photo Remke Spijkers)

Andriessen’s De Staat

Asko|Schönberg, Ensemble Klang + students of the Conservatorium van Amsterdam
Thu 12 Sep 2024 20:15 - 22:00
Thu 12 Sep 2024
20:15 - 22:00
  • Thu 12 Sep 2024
    20:15 - 22:00
    Grote Zaal


19.15 / Foyerdeck 1 / Pre-concert talk

20.15 / Grote Zaal / Main programme

Louis Andriessen De Staat
Oscar Bettison On the slow weather of dreams* 

* commissioned by Asko|Schönberg


Ensemble Klang
Students of the Conservatorium van Amsterdam
Clark Rundell conductor

Controversial work by Andriessen and new work by Oscar Bettison

With De Staat (1976), Louis Andriessen composed music for eternity. This highly personal mix of Stravinsky, American minimal, European avant-garde and jazz caused a shockwave in the international music world. Asko|Schönberg presents this politically charged work alongside a brand new work by Oscar Bettison. Bettison studied with Andriessen and is composer in residence at Asko|Schönberg this season. 

Andriessen drew inspiration from minimal music when composing De Staat, but applied minimalism in his utterly unique way. Bettison has written his piece for the same ensemble as De Staat. He sees his work as a ‘nocturnal wonderland’. A group of pianos, harps, and guitars are positioned centre stage, with some musicians changing positions. The singers incite the brass players and invoke the night.