Helmut Lachenmann (photo Emilio Pomarico)


Mark Simpson, Jean-Guihen Queyras + Pierre-Laurent Aimard
Thu 20 Feb 2025 20:15 - 22:00
Thu 20 Feb 2025
20:15 - 22:00
  • Thu 20 Feb 2025
    20:15 - 22:00
    Grote Zaal


Helmut Lachenmann Wiegenmusik for piano solo
Helmut Lachenmann Pression for cello solo
Helmut Lachenmann Dal niente for clarinet solo
Helmut Lachenmann Allegro Sostenuto for clarinet, cello and piano


Mark Simpson clarinet
Jean-Guihen Queyras cello
Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano

Unique concert featuring music by the last modernist still alive 

Simpson, Queyras and Aimard are three top musicians who are not afraid of adventure. They join forces for a unique concert with music by the last modernist still alive, Helmut Lachenmann. Fifty years ago, his experimental music was heralded as a thrilling vision of the future. A vision that remains potent for those willing to shed old listening habits. Lachenmann’s mysterious world enchants with nothing more than sound and musical imagination, opening up uncharted realms.

Lachenmann’s music reveals connections and sonic beauty in a wide range of colours, going beyond mere abstract structure. He builds enigmatic, rustling sound palaces that transcend earthly reality, yet provoke contemplation. As in Allegro Sostenuto, the central work of this concert with clear contours and a wide range of timbres for clarinet, cello and piano.