Ensemble Modern (photo Wonge Bergmann)

Ikeda: music for strings

Ensemble Modern
Thu 8 Feb 2024 20:15 - 21:15
Thu 8 Feb 2024
20:15 - 21:15


19:15 / Foyerdeck 1 / Pre-concert talk
Pre-concert talk by Frederike Berntsen

20:15 / Grote Zaal / Main programme
Ryoji Ikeda MIRROR [one for two] op. 12* (world premiere)
Ryoji Ikeda PRISM [for string nonet] op. 14* (world premiere)
Ryoji Ikeda REFLECTION [for string nonet] op. 13* (world premiere)

* The world premieres are composition commissions from Ensemble Modern, Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ with support from Ammodo and HELLERAU - European Centre for the Arts


Ensemble Modern:
Jagdish Mistry
Giorgos Panagiotidis violin
Veronika Paleeva
Biliana Voutchkova
Megumi Kasakawa
Victor Guaita Igual
Eva Böcker
Michael Maria Kasper
Paul Cannon

Three new acoustic works by Japanese visual artist

‘Ryoji Ikeda unplugged’, is what you could call this concert. The Japanese visual artist and composer gained world fame with his kaleidoscopic sound sculptures in which electronics and new technology play a leading role. For the first time in a long time, Ikeda is writing three entirely acoustic works, for the specialists of the German Ensemble Modern. But do not expect a static concert: Ikeda, who mixes visual and acoustic media like no other, creates a ritual experience in which sound and stage set merge. He also designs the stage lighting himself.

The new compositions call for a special setup. For MIRROR, there are three oblong tables on stage, on which the score lies. The work consists of successive duos, with the musicians walking in opposite directions along the tables to read their notes. REFLECTION calls for a symmetrical positioning of the musicians, in a row from left to right, with the double bass in the middle.

Public rehearsal
Tip: At 15:00, you are welcome to visit the public rehearsal of Ryoji Ikeda’s new works.

Programma booklet (Dutch)