Pierre-Laurent Aimard (photo Julia Wesely)

Schoenberg's laboratory

Pierre-Laurent Aimard
Fri 15 Nov 2024 20:15 - 22:00
Fri 15 Nov 2024
20:15 - 22:00
  • Fri 15 Nov 2024
    20:15 - 22:00
    Grote Zaal


Arnold Schoenberg Drei Klavierstücke
Alexander Scriabin Piano Sonata No. 9
Arnold Schoenberg Sechs kleine Klavierstücke
Robert Schumann Gesänge der Frühe
Arnold Schoenberg Fünf Klavierstücke
Johannes Brahms Intermezzi Op. 118 Nos. 1, 2 and 4
Arnold Schoenberg Klavierstücke op. 33a & op. 33b
Igor Stravinsky Piano Rag Music
Arnold Schoenberg Suite Op. 25


Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano

Unique journey through musical innovations on the piano

Arnold Schoenberg was the greatest musical innovator of the 20th century. According to pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard, each new piano piece of his heralded a new phase: on the piano, Schoenberg developed compositional techniques that he then applied in other works. This imaginative program pulsates with the spirit of those innovations, interwoven with refreshing work from other composers. Aimard, leading authority on modern piano music, sheds light on his repertoire choices. A unique opportunity to hear Schönberg’s complete piano oeuvre, at the very highest level.

Schoenberg’s originality is clearly not reflected in his titles, which are all rather straightforward and functional. But his notes were without exception groundbreaking. The set of three pieces for solo piano Drei Klavierstücke (1909) is one of the earliest examples of atonality, and in Suite für Klavier (1921) and Fünf Klavierstücke (1920-23) Schönberg applied his twelve-tone technique for the first time. Aimard combines them with music by Schönberg’s antipode Igor Stravinsky, the American lone wolf Charles Ives, and Ferruccio Busoni, with whom Schönberg corresponded about his compositional techniques. Aleksandr Skrjabin experimented with chromaticism in his own unique way, and the modernist Nikolay Roslavets has been called ‘the Russian Schönberg’.