Asko|Schönberg (photo Ada Nieuwendijk)

Inspired by Bruckner 1 + 7

Fri 13 Sep 2024 20:15 - 21:35
Fri 13 Sep 2024
20:15 - 21:35
  • Fri 13 Sep 2024
    20:15 - 21:35
    Grote Zaal


Frederik Neyrinck New work (world premiere) after Symphony No. 1 by Anton Bruckner
Richard Ayres New work (world premiere) after Symphony No. 7 by Anton Bruckner



Brass instruments with Neyrinck and an intimate sound biography with Richard Ayres

Composers Frederik Neyrinck and Richard Ayres will be the first to take the stage in a one-of-a-kind tribute to Anton Bruckner. Drawing inspiration from Bruckner’s First and Seventh Symphony, they are writing new work. Frederik Neyrinck delves into the heart of Bruckner’s brass sections, crafting a new work for a septet. And Richard Ayres creates an intimate sound biography using recordings of ‘things that Bruckner touched’. 

Belgian composer Frederik Neyrinck won the Förderpreis der Stadt Wien in 2020 with his intriguing ‘sound sculptures’. English composer Richard Ayres, who has been working in the Netherlands for decades, previously won the prestigious Matthijs Vermeulen Award. In partnership with Asko|Schönberg, the two composers breathe new life into Bruckner’s legacy, infusing it with their own distinctive sound. An opening concert that leaves you wanting more.